Re: A Little About Me

Let me explain why this “edition” didn’t drop into your box first thing this morning…

I chose tacos. I set out to finish writing yesterday afternoon. I was serious. I had my laptop, calendar, notebook, etc.

Then my cousin asked if I wanted to go out for tacos. It’s important for you to know that I’ll always choose tacos. Even over the kids. 

Definitely over working.

That’s my disclaimer and I’m sticking to it.

A lot of you are new, so let me begin by introducing myself…

This is me with two of the loves of my life. JP (behind me) is my fifteen year old son, adopted from Guatemala. The cute blonde in my lap is my ten year old nephew, Preston.

You may wanna sit down for this next part.

We all live together. As in, under the same roof. I’m forty three (my birthday is next week, so technically I’m still forty three) and I live in the house with my mom, dad, sister, son, and nephew.

You’re probably wondering why. Sometimes I still lay in bed at night and wonder why.

I was married for eleven years. (That’s a story for another day. Maybe closer to Halloween?!?) The day my ex left, I moved in with my parents. JP was six and I was crazy. I needed the support. My sister moved home when she was pregnant with Preston for the same reasons.

There are OBVIOUSLY more details that I’m not going to share (some of the details aren’t mine to share). Maybe later.

Here we are. It’s not ideal, but somehow it works.

My parents are saints. They’ll argue and even get a little upset that I’m saying that (except mom, she’s not humble + thrives on praise). They’ve been married for a little over one hundred years, fifty to be exact, and still like each other most of the time.

My son, JP, is autistic. Again, a story for another day.

Preston, the nephew, is baseball. That is all. He eats, sleeps, and breathes the game.

I homeschool both kids and nanny my cousin’s little baby (Jackson) who is almost two. Tell me you have gray hair without telling me you have gray hair.

In addition to mom + homeschool teacher, I’m a writer. I’m amazed people pay me to write words for them.

We live in the beautiful city of Greenville, South Carolina. The ocean is my therapy, but we hike a LOT of mountain trails - one of the many advantages of living in the upstate. I love adventure. I love nature. I love the outdoors.

Oh gosh! I almost forgot to tell you about the fur babies. Sampson + Charlie are our almost three year old German Shepherds. One apparently wasn’t enough, so we bought two. Go big or go home.

That’s just how we do things. Literally nothing makes sense. I’m pretty sure we’ve been losing brain cells over the years. (Remember how we all live together).

Enough for now. I have SO many words and thoughts and feelings to share. Please leave a comment or shoot me a message - I’d love to hear from you! (FYI, I’m not flipping the “pay” switch till after Christmas).

I’m so excited about this space. I promise to publish on time next week.

Unless I go out for tacos!